Installing A Wireless Driver With NDISWrapper

This short tutorial will guide you through the installation of NDISWrapper, and how to set it up to work with your specific wireless adapter.

This article presumes that you cannot obtain a Linux driver for your specific wireless network adapter. If you can find a Linux version, you should definitely use that instead.

Otherwise, there should be a Windows version of the driver available. This will guide you through making that driver work for Linux.

So, first you’ll need to download NDISWrapper. At the time this post was published, the current NDISWrapper version was 1.49.

Now untar the file you just downloaded, and open a terminal. Change to the extracted directory.

Run these commands (in this order!):

  • make distclean clean
  • make
  • sudo make install

If all went well, you should now have NDISWrapper installed. Now you need to get the Windows driver for your adapter. Download and extract it. Look in the extracted directory for a file ending in .inf. This is the file that holds all the driver information. In some Linux distributions, you may be able to search for *.inf, which will return all inf filetypes.

Now go back to that terminal you used before. Change to the directory containing the inf file you found. Write down (or remember) the name of the file you found. Now run this command:

sudo ndiswrapper -i <name>.inf

Replace <name> with the name of the file. If all also goes well here, the driver should be installed. I suggest typing in a command line:

ndiswrapper -l

This will list all of your current drivers. The one which you just installed should show up there. It also wouldn’t hurt to run:

  • ndiswrapper -m
  • ndiswrapper -ma

You probably now need to restart your computer. If everything worked, you should have a good Internet connection!

If you have some trouble and Ubuntu, you can view my post about fixing when modprobe does not recognize NDISWrapper.

Did you find this article useful? Please leave a comment to let me know. Don’t worry, you don’t need to register for a simple comment.

34 Responses to “Installing A Wireless Driver With NDISWrapper”


  1. 1 Larry Haney February 17, 2013 at 11:20 pm

    Thanks, worked like a charm, my system now recognises my WUSB54G driver and wireless card. Now if I could just get it to connect….

  2. 2 jaluzele falduri March 17, 2013 at 12:16 am

    An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a friend
    who was conducting a little homework on this.

    And he in fact ordered me breakfast simply because I
    discovered it for him… lol. So let me reword this.
    … Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending the time to talk about this topic
    here on your internet site.

  3. 3 Aaron May 12, 2013 at 1:30 am

    Decent domain with useable information. I did not get
    numerous search results around “pool barriers” when I
    looked around for this and at this internet site I have completely all the content
    i searched for! Thank you a 1000 times! -Aaron

  4. 4 femdomnyc.Ning.com May 15, 2013 at 1:14 am

    Hey, some people undoubtedly do, every single day.

  5. 5 installation June 22, 2013 at 8:57 am

    After looking over a number of the articles on
    your blog, I truly appreciate your way of writing a blog.
    I book marked it to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back in
    the near future. Please visit my web site too and let me know your opinion.

  6. 6 home equity lines of credit rates July 13, 2013 at 6:44 pm

    Please name the getting married masters, good
    advice, updated tumbles, monthly editorials and more than.
    If yes, tiedtide has relevant manufacture links leaned for tied more
    of the latest Gages on hymeneals and Conjoining Resources.
    It may suit realism in the beginning that the tournaments are played issure proceeding to relax you.

  7. 7 local seo deals September 8, 2013 at 4:31 pm

    When I originally left a comment I seem to have clicked the -Notify me when new
    comments are added- checkbox and from now on
    each time a comment is added I recieve 4 emails with the exact same comment.
    There has to be a means you are able to remove me from that service?
    Thanks a lot!

  8. 8 website to check out October 6, 2013 at 5:25 am

    Hey there! This is my first visit to your blog!
    We are a team of voluntees and starting a new initiative in a community in the same
    niche. Your blog provided us valuable information to work
    on. You have done a extraordinary job!

  9. 9 roof repair Vancouver March 4, 2014 at 11:35 am

    Just desire to say your artyicle is as amazing. The clarity in your posxt is just cool and i can assume you’re an expert on
    this subject. Fine with your permission allow me to grab your feed to keep up to date
    with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the rewarding work.

  10. 10 homepage April 28, 2014 at 10:22 pm

    It’s going to be ending of mine day, except before ending I am reading this impressive article
    to improve my experience.

  11. 11 Ashly May 27, 2014 at 1:24 am

    I am now not certain the place you’re getting your info, however good topic.

    I must spend some time finding out more or understanding more.
    Thanks for great information I used to be on the lookout for this
    info for my mission.

  12. 12 juegos para celular android lg E400 May 27, 2014 at 11:32 am

    This post is really a fastidious one it assists new web visitors, who are
    wishing in favor of blogging.

  13. 13 Similiarto May 30, 2014 at 12:57 pm

    you are truly a excellent webmaster. The site loading velocity is incredible.
    It seems that you’re doing any unique trick. In addition, The contents are masterwork.

    you have performed a magnificent activity on this subject!

  14. 14 PropriumMarketing August 11, 2014 at 6:04 pm

    Hi! This is my first commen hefe so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say
    I really enjoy reading your posts. Caan you suggest any otuer
    blogs/websites/forums that go over the same subjects? Thank you!

  15. 15 home improvement jobs August 13, 2014 at 8:32 pm

    What’s up to all, how is everything, I think every one is getting more from this
    website, and your views are pleasant for new users.

  16. 16 http://barryfriedmann.net August 14, 2014 at 4:03 am

    fantastic issues altogether, you simply gained a new reader.
    What might you suggest in regards to your put up that you made some days
    in the past? Any sure?

  17. 17 best home carpet steam cleaner Victoria August 21, 2014 at 1:34 pm

    Good day! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with SEO?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very
    good gains. If you know of any please share. Many thanks!

  18. 18 http://nanowrimo.org/participants/joycelynoneal August 30, 2014 at 11:43 pm

    Wow, marvelous weblog structure! How lengthy have you been running
    a blog for? you make running a blog look easy.
    The total glance of your website is excellent, let alone the content!

  19. 19 furniture Cleaning okotoks November 12, 2014 at 9:53 pm

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I found his board
    and I find It truly useful &it helped me out much.
    I hope to give something back and help others like yoou helped me.

  20. 20 evablogs November 28, 2014 at 5:54 am

    Hey There. I discovered your blog post the use of yahoo evablogs. That is a genuinely intelligently authored write-up. Let me ensure that you take note of this and get back to find out more of one’s very helpful details. Information post. We’ll definitely come back.

  21. 21 didi games January 18, 2015 at 8:08 am

    Valuable information. Fortunate me I found your site by
    chance, and I’m shocked why this twist of fate didn’t came about in advance!

    I bookmarked it.

  22. 22 Bonus deals February 9, 2015 at 6:37 am

    Hi there colleagues, how is the whole thing, and what you would like to say about this post, in my view its
    actually awesome in support of me.

  23. 23 augenlidkorrektur February 18, 2015 at 9:19 am

    This post will assist the internet people for building up new weblog or
    even a blog from start to end.

  24. 24 edu links September 28, 2015 at 9:03 pm

    I and also my guys were actually digesting the great tips and tricks located on your website while immediately came up with a horrible feeling I had not thanked the web site owner for them. These boys happened to be so joyful to learn them and now have surely been taking pleasure in these things. We appreciate you being really kind and for settling on certain extraordinary subject matter millions of individuals are really wanting to be informed on. Our own honest apologies for not expressing appreciation to you earlier.

  25. 25 craigslist January 14, 2016 at 8:13 am

    You could certainly see your enthusiasm within the article you write.
    The sector hopes for even more passionate writers like you
    who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. At all times go after your heart.

  26. 26 Dreamdictionary February 25, 2016 at 7:39 am

    I blog often and I genuinely appreciate your information.
    Yoour article has truly peaked my interest. Iamm going to book mark your site and keep checking for new details about once
    peer week. I opted in for your RSS feed as well.

  27. 27 SY August 1, 2016 at 11:14 pm

    It’s an amazing post designed for all the online people;
    they will obtain advantage from it I am sure.


  1. 1 Ubuntu 7.10 + Wireless Adapter = PROBLEMS! « engel Trackback on December 4, 2007 at 3:48 pm
  2. 2 05:00.0 BCM4311 802.11 b/g WLAN (rev 01) on v 12.2 Trackback on December 20, 2012 at 11:33 am
  3. 3 World Education University | WebTekNeq's Trackback on May 5, 2013 at 3:16 am
  4. 4 ps3 games keeps Trackback on November 20, 2014 at 8:32 pm
  5. 5 Installing CentOS Minimal | Scrambling for napkins Trackback on January 20, 2015 at 5:15 am
  6. 6 cheap led Trackback on January 28, 2015 at 7:03 pm
  7. 7 http://Peopic.com/ Trackback on January 21, 2016 at 8:37 am

Leave a Reply

