Linux Virtualization Project: OpenSUSE

Yay! Part 1 of the Linux Virtualization Project. By the way, I’ve switched from Microsoft Virtual PC to VMWare. Because I said so.

Before we begin: Click on italicized links to see pictures. Yes, I took way too many.

Anyway, I have to say that so far OpenSUSE has by far one of the best, user-friendly installation environment. It booted into a terrific splash-screen, then took me into a very well-designed installation GUI.

OpenSUSE-3
KDE or GNOME? I couldn’t decide.

OpenSUSE-4

OpenSUSE-5

OpenSUSE-6

OpenSUSE-7

This was probably one of the best OS installers I’ve seen. I mean, it plays a slideshow while installing packages! It copied over 2 GB in about 15 minutes, with 256 MB of RAM.

So, it then instructed me to reboot, and I was met by yet another splash screen. Well, it logged me in automatically, and I was yet again amazed. This OS is one of the most user-friendly, interactive Linux OSes. I chose KDE for my system [9], and I think it was a good choice. I’ve already experienced GNOME, so I wanted to try something else.

The OS came with Firefox pre-installed (as do most of the popular Linux distros) [10]. I really enjoyed the way KDE looks [11] [12]. If you click on My Computer, it’s a bit of a different interface, but I think that’s pretty innovative [13].

OpenSUSE also included a customized-for-SUSE version of OpenOffice, which is also looking great [14]. It runs very smoothly, and comes with a variety of interesting templates [15].

One more thing…. KDE / OpenSUSE has the best wallpapers ever!!!!
[16]
[17]

Overall Review: The flexibility and user-friendliness of OpenSUSE make a great candidate for those wary of Linux. (When using KDE) it strongly reminds me of Windows, and it speeds along like my normal computer with 1GB of RAM when running virtualized with only 256 MB of RAM. I suppose it really depends on whether you use KDE or GNOME with OpenSUSE for the overall result. They are very different in some areas, yet very the same in others. But all in all, this distro is great for those people who are just getting into Linux.

Ratings
Flexibility: 9/10
User-friendliness: 9.5/10
Speed: 9.5/10
Completely open source: No, installs some proprietary packages by default.
Look: 8/10
Overall: 9/10

2 Responses to “Linux Virtualization Project: OpenSUSE”


  1. 1 ny ipad May 8, 2013 at 11:05 am

    Greetings! Very useful advice within this article! It’s the little changes which will make the largest changes. Thanks a lot for sharing!

  2. 2 Ulrich July 20, 2016 at 7:36 pm

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on connecticut real estate.
    Regards


Leave a Reply

