Ubuntu Gutsy 7.10 + Wireless Adapter = PROBLEMS!

Note that this may also apply for Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn. Let’s hope this get’s indexed so people can be helped out.

I recently burned a CD of Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon, Tribe 3, and then installed it onto a secondary hard drive I added to my computer earlier on. I was all excited to get Ubuntu running, but it was a little more than a few clicks for me.

I have a Linksys Wireless WUSB54G network adapter, the ‘USB’ in the name meaning that it is connected to my computer by USB cable. On my first boot from the hard drive, Ubuntu was not able to recognize that I had the adapter; I needed a driver. I googled a bit and everything I found suggested ‘to use ndiswrapper with the driver.’ Now, I was able to get that far, and those who haven’t gotten that far should view my new post about this. Now here was my big problem: ndiswrapper wasn’t showing up in the running modules, but by typing ‘lusb’ I could see that my adapter was there, and ‘ndiswrapper -l’ showed that the driver was installed and the device for that driver was present. I tried using ‘sudo modprobe ndiswrapper’, but kept getting an error of ‘FATAL ERROR: Module ndiswrapper not found’.

The solution: You need to update your kernel headers and recompile ndiswrapper. Use this to update the headers:

  • From a Terminal, run:
      sudo apt-get install linux-headers-$(uname -r)

    and run the following for the dependencies:

      sudo apt-get install dh-make fakeroot gcc-3.4 build-essential

The above was taken from the Ubuntu Wiki, just to note. Now this presents a bit of a paradox. On a page where most people are accessing from separate computers merely because the computer they are trying to fix doesn’t have internet interface yet, they tell you to get something that you can only get through an Ubuntu machine. For me, this was a problem, as it was the only Linux computer in the house (Windows and Macs are dominant here) I either had to get debians and use a removable drive to transfer, or temporarily set up an interface that would allow good access. I chose the latter. I moved my computer, my screen, everything, into a room with my router in it, so I could plug in the ethernet cable to get the packages. Both methods should work, one was probably easier than the other, though. Now download the latest version of ndiswrapper, untar to a folder on the desktop, and CD to that folder. Run ‘make distclean clean’, then ‘make’, and finally ‘sudo make install’. There should be no errors in the compile this time. Check that the driver is still installed for the adapter. If not, just reinstall it using ‘ndiswrapper -i rt2700usb.inf’ like you did before, with whatever your driver’s inf file is. Reboot and it should now work!

Did you find this article useful? Please leave a comment to let me know. Don’t worry, you don’t need to register for a simple comment.

19 Responses to “Ubuntu Gutsy 7.10 + Wireless Adapter = PROBLEMS!”


  1. 1 Instant January 1, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    Great help man. Solved all my ndiswrapper problems. More people should write tutorials as good as this.

  2. 2 Trijit Acharyya Chowdhury March 1, 2008 at 10:22 am

    Well. I am a student of B.Tech. Our hostel have access points to connect with the server. I have newly installed Ubuntu in my system..

    I have a Netgear V2 wifi card (external) which is showing the networks but problem is I can’t connect with those using a Static IP….

    Plz..HELP ME OUT OF THIS PROBLEM……….

    Thanx in advance….
    Trijit

  3. 3 Adrian Smith March 9, 2008 at 8:43 am

    Saved my bacon!

    Not a good advert for Ubuntu though. I had enough trouble getting the wireless working in the first place, so more problems were not welcome.

    Teach me to upgrade!

  4. 4 leorockway March 26, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    @ Adrian Smith, Surely you mean “not good advertisement for *Linksys*”😉

  5. 5 Wez April 1, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    Omfg. OUTA OFF EVERY ARTICLE, and I’ve been poring through them this is THE ONLY ARTICLE THAT FIXED MY PROBLEM. I THANK THEE! YOU ARE AWESOME! No article suggested your steps, thank you so much!

  6. 6 johnny April 21, 2008 at 9:51 am

    hello i can’t connect my wireless card

    jhonny@jhonny-laptop:~$ sudo ndiswrapper -i rt2700usb.inf
    installing rt2700usb …
    couldn’t open rt2700usb.inf: No such file or directory at /usr/sbin/ndiswrapper-1.9 line 181.
    jhonny@jhonny-laptop:~$

  7. 7 engel April 24, 2008 at 6:16 am

    Johnny, you need to download the Windows version of the driver for your wireless adapter, extract it, and retrieve the `rt2700usb.inf` file. You can see more about it in this post.

  8. 8 Shams.143.priya January 10, 2009 at 12:39 am

    Amazing Site I like it. It Was Quite Interesting NiceWork I appreciate the information you provided Excellent post. Keep it up! Good day!

  9. 9 Jon April 25, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    What a help this was! I use Debian 5.01 and this was a great help. There is no greater feeling than “modprobe ndiswrapper” and see that green light come on! Thank you mate!

  10. 10 peacefullstreet November 22, 2009 at 9:15 am

    WOOOUUUUUUUUUAAAWWW
    Dude you are my saviour.i’ve search for month a solution to my problem.Now it’s fine my nETGEAR WG311 v3 work perfectly
    Thanks again

  11. 11 venetian blinds brisbane August 17, 2011 at 3:38 am

    I have some surfing from some problem. I will share with you shortly.

  12. 12 Grafolog October 1, 2013 at 8:54 am

    Hurrah! After all I got a weblog from where I can actually obtain helpful facts regarding my study and knowledge.

  13. 13 Bernie January 1, 2014 at 9:49 am

    I actually desired to share this unique post,
    “Ubuntu Gutsy 7.10 + Wireless Adapter
    = PROBLEMS! | Obsessed with the Press” along with my buddies on
    facebook .com. I reallyjust simply planned to pass on ur remarkable posting!
    Thanks, Elliot

  14. 14 Virgil January 3, 2014 at 2:32 pm

    Seems like you really fully understand a good deal related to this
    particular topic and this exhibits throughout this excellent article, termed “Ubuntu Gutsy
    7.10 + Wireless Adapter = PROBLEMS! | Obsessed with the Press”.
    Many thanks -Anitra

  15. 15 http://technologyexpertblog.wordpress.com April 7, 2014 at 5:26 am

    I have read so many posts regarding the blogger lovers however this paragraph
    is genuinely a good piece of writing, keep it up.

  16. 16 internet service providers harveys lake pa October 3, 2014 at 9:33 pm

    Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it is truly informative.
    I am going to watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future.
    Lots of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  17. 17 www.videobizden.com January 8, 2015 at 6:36 am

    Great blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own site soon but I’m a little
    lost on everything. Would you suggest starting
    with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options
    out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any ideas? Cheers!

  18. 18 Rocky L. Kilgore April 22, 2016 at 11:18 pm

    I have driver installed and still no network devices available


  1. 1 Installing A Wireless Driver With NDISWrapper « Engel Trackback on November 10, 2007 at 12:25 pm

Leave a Reply

