WordPress, Unicode, and ‘?’s

I previously had some problems when I mixed Unicode with WordPress. Every time I typed a Unicode character, (after posting) it would display as a ‘?’. This post will describe how to fix this.

Basically, the problem is that WordPress is not comprehending this, and instead of telling the database to store the Unicode characters, it just says, “Heck, just stick a bunch of question marks in there.”

Of course, this can be easily fixed in two steps. All you’ll need is FTP access to your server and a fair comprehension of how to type. So, let’s get started!

  1. Open up ‘wp-config.php’ from the root directory of your WordPress installation.
  2. Add ‘//’ at the very beginning of these two lines:
    define('DB_CHARSET', 'utf8');
    define('DB_COLLATE', '');

So that section should now look like this:
//define('DB_CHARSET', 'utf8');
//define('DB_COLLATE', '');

You’re already finished. How easy was that?

Important notes:

  1. The quotes surrounding // in step 2 should not be inserted. Those are just indicating that the // is the part you should insert.
  2. If you’ve meddled with that part of ‘wp-config.php’ before, it may look a bit different. But pay no attention to the differences. Just be sure add // to the lines containing DB_CHARSET and DB_COLLATE.

Did you find this article useful? Please leave a comment to let me know. Don’t worry, you don’t need to register for a simple comment.

111 Responses to “WordPress, Unicode, and ‘?’s”


  1. 1 geoffreyking October 13, 2007 at 2:36 pm

    Looks to me like you’re going a long way round here. My computer just does Unicode unless I tell it to do something else. A few programs still come with Latin 3 or even Latin 1 by default but you can easily change this is the ‘Tools’. Or am I missing something?

  2. 3 engel October 13, 2007 at 4:27 pm

    But by default WordPress won’t parse Unicode characters correctly. At least with Esperanto characters, that’s what I used to try it..

  3. 4 CowDir October 31, 2007 at 7:38 pm

    Pretty awesome article. Thanks! – CowDir

  4. 5 Nolawi December 25, 2007 at 9:26 pm

    thank you so so so much for this… i wasted an hour trying to fix till i found your post and then violla… FIXED

  5. 6 Chris January 24, 2008 at 10:59 am

    Are you kidding me?!? After hours of trying to figure out what in the blazes was going on, all it took was a few //s? Incredible. You are a genius in my mind. Thanks!

  6. 7 dinu May 14, 2008 at 4:20 am

    it worked without making this change… for malayalam…
    :)

  7. 8 fairbro June 28, 2008 at 12:00 am

    I was pulling my hair on this one – the source code for the web page says that WordPress IS doing Unicode – but it isn’t. Bill Gates to thank for why this is a problem only on some computers.

    I am so glad to fix this after only one day.

    Actually, you fixed it.

    Thanks!

    (If you think Bush is bad, wait’ll you see what’s next…)

  8. 9 vamana October 2, 2008 at 4:09 am

    Wonderful insight. This made such a huge difference to the effort I was putting to get this working.

    Thank you so much. You are making the blog a wonderful learning and sharing tool.

  9. 10 Vinayak Anivase October 6, 2008 at 9:36 am

    Thanks a lot,its so easy n working.
    Thanks once again.:)

    keep goin!!

  10. 11 David October 26, 2008 at 9:49 am

    Thanks. There must be a reason why unicode is not enabled by default. I was very puzzled initially because the upper characters would display properly while editing the post initially. Only later did I find that they were converted to ???s when I saved/published the post. That was the clue that led me to your post.

    I’ll be reading more of your site – thanks for documenting your insights!

    David

  11. 12 rithy November 4, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    i want to create blog with khmer language.
    can u help me, how to do?

  12. 14 web design December 21, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    Thanks! It was very helpful!

  13. 15 tyson April 27, 2009 at 10:35 am

    Just surfing the web and found your site,I am also involved with people search and background checks.Your site has been really helpful thanks.

  14. 16 ramag June 10, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    Thank you very very much dear, I was strugulling lot to fix this problem, how easily you described, thanks lot,

  15. 17 phaseill September 7, 2009 at 5:26 am

    Awesome, my site in in the maori language using macrons etc. Yours is a tip i’ll no doubt use time and time again :) Thanks! (Unless WP fixes it for us?!?!?)

  16. 18 kanishka September 27, 2009 at 9:26 am

    i tried making such change and reviwed twice to make sure, i didnt commit any mistake..
    its not working for me. i just started developing a website and you may see it ..the demo on http://blogprahari.in

    i wish to show hindi unicode characters.. and the same ? ? ?????
    signs appear.. please help me at earliest.

  17. 19 kanishka September 27, 2009 at 9:34 am

    ooh!
    it did .. but for the newer posts I made..
    it didnt work for the earlier posts..
    Thanks a lot..

  18. 20 vamshee October 1, 2009 at 11:12 am

    I had this same problem – couldn’t get my new blog to show Unicode characters. Then I figured out where the problem is. I just wanted to share it here for future reference.

    At the time of installing WP, in the config file the following settings need to be present
    define(‘DB_CHARSET’, ‘utf8′);
    define(‘DB_COLLATE’, ‘utf8_general_ci’);

    By default the collate setting is left as ”.
    That is the problem. In the MySQL database tables that wordpress creates, all the table fields will be left as default collation which is the ‘latin1_swedish_ci’ .

    This causes an inconsistency. You are writing UTF8 chars into a latin collation. so the data gets lost(turns to ‘???’)

    So if you are installing fresh, make sure you set both the settings.

    Now as suggested here, when you comment out the first DB_CHARSET setting, then you will be using a ASCII and latin collation combo which works. (because, you are no longer storing the data as Unicode – they will be stored as some funky characters – something like à°°à°¾à ±‡…)

    And, another point, no matter what you do, you will not be able to get your UTF8 data once its corrupted.(ie. when they turn to “???” and not these -“à°° ±‡” ).

    Hope this helps.

    -V

  19. 21 兜兜爸爸 November 19, 2009 at 2:58 am

    simple but effective!! thanks

  20. 22 viiral November 19, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    Omg.. was it that easy o.o cheers!

  21. 23 Emil December 1, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    Great tip, solved my problems with Serbian characters šđčćž :)

  22. 24 kanishka December 14, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    Sir!
    I have the similar “??? ” problem with my wp installation I made using fantastico installer. I used your trick and it made the things go perfect. Now I upgraded the installation script, had the same error ( characters were now “-”à°° ±‡”). I again repeated the trick, but it made partial correction with the display. Still some posts have the similar ???? problem.
    help me out please!

  23. 25 'Pong January 3, 2010 at 11:17 pm

    I’ve have been stumbled this issues for a long time. The two line code works like a magic. Thank you.

  24. 26 Subhash Makkena January 20, 2010 at 11:41 am

    When you are recreating your blog from an import XML file, Do this modification and then import.

    • 27 Adam February 17, 2010 at 8:35 pm

      You know I tried this method and it worked, but it caused issues all over my site in other posts. It started to mess up apostrophes and such. Any recommendations?

  25. 29 uldis April 12, 2010 at 6:58 am

    Thank you so very, very much! :)

  26. 30 GujaratiSMS May 22, 2010 at 9:59 am

    Thanks.

    Its working for me. I am searching for this from last many days.for my website http://www.gujaratisms.com for Gujarati Language.You help me out.

    Thanks again.

  27. 31 Daniel June 21, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    thank you very much! Now my blog works great!

  28. 32 amila July 7, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    this work fine. But the problem is

    define(‘DB_CHARSET’, ‘utf8′);

    is an essential line.If u commented it you cannot use your database for do any other work.

    Best way is , when creating a database make collation to either
    utf8_general_ci or utf8_unicode_ci. Both work same manner except sorting method. cheers :-)

  29. 33 masud August 1, 2010 at 5:06 am

    thank u for a great problem solve. it worked for our site accurately, :) thanking is not enough for this

  30. 34 zerovic October 5, 2010 at 1:12 pm

    thanks for the solution! it actually works for the posts, but I still have this bug on the main page…i’m stonned

  31. 35 Irini November 22, 2010 at 4:10 am

    You are God!Thanks so much!!!

  32. 36 Ali Raza Cheema January 23, 2011 at 3:31 am

    Thanks Dude, you solve my problem so easily, I was searching for this problem for an hour over google. Thanks Again

  33. 37 aqeel February 9, 2011 at 5:28 am

    Thanks
    You solved my problem –YEEEHAW!

  34. 38 Victor February 10, 2011 at 1:44 am

    Perfect fix, very simple step. Despite I wonder what is the implication of removing these two lines, will the db not know what charset to use? or sth else?

  35. 39 Todd February 18, 2011 at 9:17 am

    Tried it, but it made all these diamond shaped question marks after every period. Weird… back to searching the web for a different solution I guess

    • 40 Clifton March 9, 2012 at 7:46 pm

      I had problems with this too, Todd. I have a lot of Spanish text on my site and any Spanish character where there’s an accent or tilde is now corrupt, even though I am now able to post new material in Hebrew just fine. I also wasn’t able to reverse the damage that this “fix” did. What did you end up doing?

  36. 41 manoj March 3, 2011 at 3:04 pm

    hai , i did this. but not fixed.
    and tell me one more thing.how can i change wordpress site’s dash boadrd interface language? that means i want full telugu wordpress.

  37. 42 sandal distro March 9, 2011 at 2:31 am

    Thank you for sharing the blog. I look forward to many more interesting articles.

  38. 43 sathish March 9, 2011 at 6:30 am

    thank a lot

  39. 44 Rob Jones March 23, 2011 at 3:30 am

    Fab! You were the last ‘find’ before I gave up. Worked a treat and in seconds. Thank You!

  40. 45 laurux77 May 10, 2011 at 3:10 am

    Thank you so much! I was having the same problem in Latvian language. And now I have fixed it finally. So THANK YOU!

  41. 46 manoj May 10, 2011 at 7:05 am

    hi, atlast fixed my problem through this method. thank a lot.

  42. 47 Paul Cable May 27, 2011 at 4:22 am

    Thanks! What an easy fix – I wonder why that’s not default.

  43. 48 arunpdl June 23, 2011 at 1:37 am

    thanx a lot man…that really worked for me :)

  44. 49 Evi Helviani July 10, 2011 at 12:26 am

    I am very lucky to find your web site. Your article is very useful. Thank you for share

  45. 50 evi helviani July 27, 2011 at 9:22 am

    I think your article is very useful for me. Thanks

  46. 51 Alan Porter August 14, 2011 at 7:04 pm

    I think this might be a short-sighted solution. The problem may be that your database tables are defined with a different encoding. In my case, they were mysql tables with “latin1″ encoding. I changed their encodings (using mysqldump, an editor, and mysql < dumpfile) and now they are properly encoded in UTF-8.

    Alan

  47. 52 RR August 17, 2011 at 10:52 am

    Thank you.
    This solved my problem.
    Simple solution for A BIG PROBLEM.

  48. 53 sanjay August 19, 2011 at 11:28 pm

    Yes, worked for me. Thanks a lot.

  49. 54 Max October 26, 2011 at 12:30 pm

    Thank you very-much!!!!! This world works because of you nice people who like helping others…

  50. 55 Dhara November 17, 2011 at 3:34 am

    Thank you very much.
    I am able to create a wordpress website in gujarati

  51. 56 lucholibre December 2, 2011 at 6:38 pm

    Thanks! I was going nuts with some articles a writer had sent me!

  52. 57 Dennis Tran February 14, 2012 at 5:31 pm

    Thank’s alot for your Great information….
    It helps many people with this problem…

    Dennis Tran

  53. 58 jd July 22, 2012 at 2:41 am

    Well, this is certainly my problem too & apparently it has been around for a long time. I know nothing about php, but when I open the wp-config file I find that the two lines of code you suggest are already there, though they come after the <php? tag at the beginning of the file & do not have the // in front of them, nor are they the first MySql strings in the file. To my untrained eye, the // looks like in precedes comments in the file and that actual code does not begin with //

    Anyhow, before I edit the file, I'm looking for a bit of reassurance that this is what I should be doing. A couple of other notes: I use a configurable keyboard set for unicode that uses VIQR input & it works in every application I can find, except my WP blog.

    Tôi muốn viết Tiếng Việt làm quốc ngữ !

  54. 59 Nepaliunicode August 19, 2012 at 1:43 am

    Thanx, i can use it to write nepali as well.

  55. 61 RupinderSingh December 10, 2012 at 1:23 am

    Really Thanks, it worked…

  56. 62 how to create a blog March 9, 2013 at 11:31 am

    Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it
    is truly informative. I am gonna watch out
    for brussels. I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  57. 63 Brijesh March 19, 2013 at 11:36 pm

    Thank You, Thank You a lot. It helped me so much. Thanks Thanks Thanks! I was going nuts because of the ?

  58. 64 Jefferson April 15, 2013 at 6:16 pm

    Hi there! This article could not be written much better!
    Reading through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He constantly kept talking about this. I will forward this post to him.
    Fairly certain he’s going to have a very good read. I appreciate you for sharing!

  59. 65 Jee May 2, 2013 at 10:02 am

    Lifesaver !!! Thanks a Lot

  60. 66 reptiles san diego May 24, 2013 at 5:56 am

    I want you in order to be able for you to help thank to your period of the
    great examine! We without a doubt enjoy every
    single little bit of it and I have you book marked to look at
    new stuff of your blog site essential read wewebsite!

  61. 67 high sleeper bed May 24, 2013 at 10:44 pm

    Hello there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay. I’m absolutely enjoying your blog and look
    forward to new updates.

  62. 68 Leah May 31, 2013 at 7:19 am

    Who you use will be key to your financial future, so it’s essential you find a firm with a proven track record of helping small businesses, with plenty of experience in the services you need. The types of nonfinancial information that are included are “operational and physical measurements on processes, technologies, suppliers, customers, and competitors” (Atkinson, Kaplan, & Young, 2004, p. Thus, there is a need to properly define the type of services expected from an accounting professional.

  63. 69 seo company orange county July 4, 2013 at 9:48 pm

    What a stuff of un-ambiguity and preserveness of precious
    familiarity regarding unpredicted feelings.

  64. 70 H裩rgement Web Marocain July 4, 2013 at 9:51 pm

    all the time i used to read smaller content that also clear their motive, and that
    is also happening with this article which I am reading now.

  65. 71 tadalafil 20mg online July 5, 2013 at 7:13 am

    It’s really a great and useful piece of info. I am glad that you simply shared this helpful information with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  66. 72 chat roulette July 13, 2013 at 10:42 pm

    Hello to all, the contents existing at this web site are genuinely amazing for people knowledge, well,
    keep up the nice work fellows.

  67. 73 forte suites condo July 17, 2013 at 7:30 am

    fantastic issues altogether, you just received a emblem new reader.
    What might you suggest about your post that you simply made some days in the past?
    Any certain?

  68. 74 retirement planning July 18, 2013 at 10:39 pm

    I used to be recommended this blog via my
    cousin. I am no longer certain whether this
    publish is written by him as nobody else understand
    such unique about my difficulty. You are incredible!

    Thank you!

  69. 75 home collection July 20, 2013 at 10:15 pm

    Hello there! Do you know if they make any plugins
    to protect against hackers? I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on.
    Any tips?

  70. 76 search engine July 24, 2013 at 2:43 pm

    My brother recommended I may like this blog.
    He used to be totally right. This submit truly made my day.
    You can not believe just how a lot time I had spent for this information!
    Thanks!

  71. 77 Robin July 28, 2013 at 12:27 am

    Admiring the time and energy you put into your website and
    detailed information you provide. It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed material.

    Great read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  72. 78 free.yudu.com August 10, 2013 at 7:20 am

    We are confident Google is aware that what type modern site types these kinds of
    SEO tools can connect to and perhaps designer watches them all very carefully.

  73. 79 web page August 22, 2013 at 8:07 pm

    Hey there! I realize this is somewhat off-topic however I had to ask.

    Does managing a well-established website like yours require a lot of work?
    I am completely new to operating a blog but I do write in
    my journal on a daily basis. I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any suggestions or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

  74. 80 Obat Kutil Kelamin September 10, 2013 at 7:52 pm

    Hiii…
    Omg.. Was it that easy o.o cheers!

  75. 81 datumax November 6, 2013 at 2:37 am

    This worked perfectly. Thanks!

  76. 82 uglyduckblog February 5, 2014 at 7:48 pm

    Reblogged this on Quak Quaks of the Ugly Duckling and commented:
    One very important post for those who wants wordpress in some other language!

  77. 83 uglyduckblog February 5, 2014 at 7:49 pm

    Thanks, i thought i have to edit my whole database for that. very easy and nice workaround. :D

  78. 84 windows 8 loader gif March 12, 2014 at 8:13 pm

    Do you hasve any video of that? I’d like too fimd out more details.

  79. 85 Youtube.com May 13, 2014 at 2:35 pm

    Hey there! I know this is kind of off topic but I was
    wondering which blog platform are you using for this website?
    I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for
    another platform. I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction
    of a good platform.

  80. 86 custom birthday banners for twins May 17, 2014 at 6:02 am

    Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I in finding It really helpful &
    it helped me out much. I’m hoping to present something back
    and help others such as you helped me.

  81. 87 the racing driver June 26, 2014 at 3:39 pm

    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the
    video to make your point. You obviously know what youre talking about, why throw away your
    intelligence on just posting videos to your site when you could be
    giving us something enlightening to read?

  82. 88 coach on craigslist jewelry for sale jewelry classifieds July 3, 2014 at 11:41 am

    Great information.Luckiy me I found your blog by accident (stumbleupon).
    I have saved as a favorite foor later!

  83. 89 SEO July 11, 2014 at 8:32 pm

    Just desire to say your article is as surprising. The clearness in your submit is simply spectacular
    and i can think you’re an expert in this subject.
    Fine with your permission allow me to grasp your
    feed to stay up to date with approaching post. Thanks a million and please keep up the enjoyable work.

  84. 90 Minecraft Giftcode Generator July 16, 2014 at 12:46 pm

    Thanks for the marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you will
    be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog
    and will come back down the road. I want to encourage
    one to continue your great posts, have a nice
    evening!

  85. 91 companies July 21, 2014 at 9:10 am

    Yes! Finally something about SEO for local business owners.

  86. 92 Www.Youtube.com July 26, 2014 at 5:54 pm

    Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wished to mention that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts.
    After all I will be subscribing for your feed and I am hoping you write once
    more soon!


  1. 1 katagrapho » Punctuating Eph 2:14b-15a Trackback on January 24, 2008 at 11:03 am
  2. 2 árvíztűrő tükörfúrógép at Íráskényszer Trackback on April 18, 2008 at 5:40 am
  3. 3 Krunk4Ever! » Blog Archive » Upgraded to WordPress 2.5.1 Trackback on June 12, 2008 at 3:57 am
  4. 4 HD-Trailers.net Blog » Blog Archive » Upgraded to WordPress 2.5.1 Trackback on June 12, 2008 at 3:58 am
  5. 5 Using Unicode - Blog Test 2 Trackback on August 28, 2008 at 1:29 am
  6. 6 WordPress, Unicode, and ‘?’s « Obsessed with the Press Trackback on September 4, 2008 at 1:07 am
  7. 7 project-2501.net » Blog Archive » obsessed with anonymous functions Trackback on January 21, 2009 at 1:32 am
  8. 8 Puppet Kaos » Blog Archive » Upgraded to WordPress 2.7 Trackback on February 11, 2009 at 5:12 am
  9. 9 WordPress, Unicode and ? Trackback on February 18, 2010 at 6:52 am
  10. 10 Order of the Bath » Unicode in Wordpress Trackback on May 8, 2010 at 11:05 am
  11. 11 ਸਿੱਖ ਧਰਮ ਦੇ ਪੈਰੋਕਾਰਾਂ ਦਾ ਵੈਸਾਖੀ ਨਾਲ ਗੂੜਾ ਸਬੰਧ ਹੈ। | www.punjabexpress.com.au-Australia's No 1 Punjabi Indian Newspaper Trackback on May 29, 2010 at 10:25 am
  12. 12 Chinese language wordpress plugin - NamePros.com Trackback on March 9, 2012 at 9:11 pm
  13. 13 Fun with JavaScript: count parentheses | The Java Hacker - Peter Jaric's Blog Trackback on April 19, 2012 at 1:41 am
  14. 14 [SEO Content Machine] Finds Content No Matter What Your Keyword - Take The Challenge Trackback on March 23, 2013 at 10:06 pm
  15. 15 [SEO Content Machine] Finds Content No Matter What Your Keyword - Take The Challenge Trackback on March 24, 2013 at 8:10 am
  16. 16 Drawing pictures with text (the joys and annoyances of Unicode and Ascii text). « wobable.com Trackback on March 31, 2013 at 5:52 pm
  17. 17 Kod?l SEO tekstai svarb?s J?s? verslui? Trackback on August 4, 2013 at 11:45 am
  18. 18 jeff.* | WordPress Character Encoding Trackback on November 6, 2013 at 2:36 am
  19. 19 boyy michael kors tote bag on sale Trackback on June 27, 2014 at 11:43 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

